A terrible poverty; a bountiful blessing …

Mother Teresa once said: “loneliness is the most terrible poverty“.  This week I am thinking of the tremendous value of friendships in walking life’s journeys, both good and bad.  On Monday evening, I spoke about the Journeys book to the incredibly kind Stephen Ministry class at St. John’s United Methodist Church in Georgetown, Texas and again on Thursday with the very interesting folks at the St. John Neumann Catholic Church in Austin, Texas.  Along the way, I met some wonderful persons, and reconnected with friends whom I had not seen lately.  Then on Friday evening I had dinner with long-time dear friends from my start-up professional days in the Texas State Capitol, working for the former Speaker (Bill Clayton) of the Texas House of Representatives back in the 1980s.  Reaching back even further, yesterday I had lunch with four high school buddies from Calhoun High School in Port Lavaca, Texas.  We dusted off the old yearbooks, and had a wonderful culinary walk down memory lane!

Old friends.  New acquaintances.  Book supporters.  Life supporters.  All are bountiful blessings of my rich life, for which I am grateful.  Here’s to you and all your own friends who are there for you, in good times and bad.

With heartfelt thanks for all my friends, Melody

One thought on “A terrible poverty; a bountiful blessing …

Leave a Reply

